An Interview with: Zelda Piskosz

Special thanks to Zelda for taking the time to visit with Author Insight. Please visit www.avalonbooks.com for more information about Zelda’s novels. 

What prompted you to become a writer?

I always liked telling stories, now I just put them down on paper.

How long have you been writing and in what genres do you write? 

I wrote my first story in 1st grade. I still remember the title, Susie the Butterfly. I have been published in professional nursing journals

and magazines. I started writing romance about twenty years ago. My passion was historical romance back then.

When did you have your first sale?

Six years ago I sold my first contemporary romance, Brooklyn Ballerina to Avalon Books..

What is the most challenging aspect of being a writer?

Finding the time to write has always been a challenge for me.

What is the most rewarding aspect of being a writer?

 

Reader comments are always fun to get.

 

Tell us about your latest project.

 

I’m working on the 2nd book in my Love by Chocolate series. The stories revolve around the people who pass through a chocolate shop in

 

Brooklyn, NY.

 

What projects do you have coming out in the future?

 

The first book in my Love by Chocolate series. Chocolate Secrets, is scheduled to be released in April 2008.

 

What refreshes you creatively?

 

Reading newspapers and magazines is a great source of ideas. The idea for Brooklyn Ballerina came from a newspaper article about an ex-marine who helped save his daughter’s ballet school. The idea for Chocolate Secrets came from a magazine blurb about a secret chocolate recipe in France.

 

 What do you wish you knew then that you know now?

 

I tend to be a seat of the pants writer, but attending workshops  and networking with other writers has taught me to set goals and schedule my writing time.

 

What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

 

Write, Write, Write. Don’t give up because you only get better and learn by each experience. And never, never take rejection personally.

 

 

 

Leave a comment